field mission in Malawi

Africa by Alexa Antoinette

Africa by Alexa Antoinette

In the coming weeks, I will be doing a field mission with the Humanitarian OSM Team. My mission is to assist government and communities to use and adopt open technologies and community mapping approaches for disaster risk reduction.

This isn’t the first time I’ll be doing long periods of field mapping in challenging environments, but, this is my first to work on a foreign country composed of a team of recognized community mapping leaders within their respective countries. I have very little expectations as I know very little of the country and field conditions we will be deployed.

If there’s one thing I hope to gain from this experience, that is to look at what I do on another PERSPECTIVE.

I will try to post my thoughts in this blog or the official channels as we go along.

Wish us luck!

3 responses to “field mission in Malawi

  1. good luck🙂
    I had very good experiences in Kenya with a cheap Android phone used with OSMTracker for Android. A word of caution for low cost android phones: the GPS quality differs a great deal on my 70 USD Huawei Ideos I had great results, On a Tecno N3 I never got a fix.

  2. Hi there! Good luck! You heading to Blantryre or Lilongwe? I was stationed in Senga Bay on the lake (near Lilongwe) on a mapping internship back in 2000/01. Beautiful country, lots of challenges. Make sure to make a trip out to the Hotel Livingstone on the lakeshore on a weekend for a decent G&T.

Leave a Reply

